TOWN OF NEW DENMARK ANNUAL MEETING APRIL 16, 2019 @ 7:00 p.m. MOTIONS MADE AND CARRIED

The Annual Town Meeting for the Town of New Denmark was held on Tuesday, April 16, 2019 and the following motions were made and carried by the residents:

- 1. Motion by Mike Calewarts to accept Annual Minutes from April 2018 as read. Seconded by James Crawford. MC unanimously.
- 2. Motion by Carol Crawford and seconded by Kathy Janssen to accept the 2018 Annual Financial Report for the Town. MC unanimously.
- 3. Motion by Kathy Janssen and seconded by Linda Feller to donate \$1,500 to the Denmark Community Center. MC unanimously
- 4. Motion by Francis Rabas and seconded by James Crawford to donate \$2,000 to the Veterans War Memorial Park. MC unanimously.
- 5. Motion by Mike Calewarts and seconded by Al Cookle to donate \$500 to the Denmark Youth Baseball/Softball league. MC unanimously
- 6. Motion by Gary Moore to adopt the following: "Be it resolved that we the electors of the Town of New Denmark, being duly assembled at the town meeting on April 16, 2019, do hereby remain the governing body which fixes the salaries of elected town officials. Persusant (sic) to 60.10 (1)(b) and 60.32 (1) of the Wisconsin State Statutes." Seconded by Gary Johnson. MC unanimously.
- 7. Motion by Gary Moore to adopt the following: "To access future needs and salaries of elected town officials, I make a motion to direct all elected town officials to keep daily logs of official town activities. This log is to detail the time, day, and individual event phone calls to town residents, meetings, town right of way trash removal, and all other services provided to the town; such as 5:15 pm 5:30 pm conversation with Mrs. Jones regarding culvert placement, or 7:00 pm 9:30 pm towns association meeting, etc. The log is to be made available to the public, at the regular monthly meetings. Statute 60.10 (1)(b). 60.32(1)(a) 60.10(b)" Seconded by Gary Johnson. MC unanimously.
- 8. Motion by Gary Moore to adopt the following: "I make a motion to direct town officials to immediately stop the use of the current town administrator. The services were normally accomplished by the chairman and supervisors, and clerk, as part of their monthly salary. If a town official can not effectively provide these town services because of other employment situations, that official should immediately resign their post. A steering committee, set up of volunteer residents, will determine if an administrator is needed and will conduct an

investigation into applicants with Town residency. This committee will investigate wheather (sic) the jount (sic) use of the administrator, violates Wisconsin State Statutes and investigate the written contract between the Village of Denmark and the Town of New Denmark concerning this position. If this position is necessary, no hourly wage greater than \$18.75/hr will be offered. Because of possible conflicts of interest, town board member or appointed committee members can not serve on the steering committee. The committee shall elect their own chairman and keep minutes of meetings, which will be part of the public record. State statue 60.37(4)(b)(2). 60.10(1)(f) 60.10(L)". Seconded by Gary Johnson. 10 ayes, 9 opposed, 7 abstain from voting. Motion carried.

- 9. Motion by Michael Gaworek to lower the Assessor's pay effective June 1, 2019 to \$14,000 annually, with no mileage or expense reimbursement paid. Seconded by John Champeau. Motion withdrawn and revised to lower Assessor salary to \$14,000 effective June 1, 2021. Seconded by Carol Crawford. Motion carried unanimously.
- Motion by Marty Kurth to adopt an ordinance to permit ATV/UTV and golf carts on all Town roads. Seconded by James Crawford. 2 ayes, 12 opposed. Motion fails.
- 11. Motion by Gary Moore and seconded by Francis Rabas to put egress lighting on Town Hall to shine on the parking area and eastern section of Town Hall. Motion carried unanimously.
- 12. Motion to set the third Tuesday in April, 2019 as the Annual meeting of the Electors. Motion carried unanimously.
- 13. Motion by Francis Rabas and seconded by James Crawford to adjourn at 8:15 pm. Motion carried unanimously.

Posted: April 24, 2019

Prepared by: Michelle Wallerius, Clerk